Clipper 2000 Race
Winner: Bristol

Back to history

The third edition of the race saw the UK daily newspaper, The Times sign up as title sponsor, renaming the race to: The Times Clipper 2000 Race.

Starting from Portsmouth the eight-strong fleet raced to Havana, Cuba via Vilamoura in the first stage, won by the Plymouth entry.

“After 25 days at sea, the crew were absolutely jubilant to have won our first race in The Times Clipper 2000,” explained skipper, Matt Baker.

“We’d been pushing the boat hard and was rewarding to see our crew work had really come together to give us that race result.”

The final race from Jersey to Portsmouth was a short one, providing a grandstand finish for spectators and media alike. And what a finish they had with Jersey, Bristol and London all fighting for overall honours.

It was Bristol, skippered by Bob Beggs who ensured victory, becoming the first team to claim The Times Clipper Race Trophy.