For Wendy 'Wendo' Tuck, one race around the world was never going to be enough, and now she’s making history as the first Australian skipper to take part in the arduous ocean challenge twice.

"I love the Clipper Race so much, it’s still in my blood," says Wendy.

"It was such an achievement, and I’m just so proud to once again be representing Australia in this epic challenge."

It’s not the first time Wendy has made Clipper Race history. In the previous 2015-16 edition, she was the first Australian female skipper ever appointed to lead a team of amateurs on the epic 40,000 nautical mile race across the world’s oceans.

Before setting off on a second Clipper Race, Wendy rang in 2017 by achieving her life-long goal of making the CYCA honours list, after competing in a tenth Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race.

The RSHYR is a race close to Wendy’s heart. The 52-year-old was awarded the Jane Tate Memorial Trophy after being the first female Skipper across the Finish Line, plus she led her team to win the Clipper Race class of the 2015 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race, which doubled as Race 5 of the All-Australian Leg.

Wendy knows a thing or two when it comes to handling a diverse and inexperienced crew. In the 2015-16 edition, there were twelve nationalities and 47 careers in her crew, with the ages ranging from 18 to 66.

Wendy’s appointment continues Australia’s proud association with the Clipper Race. She is the sixth Australian Skipper in the history of the race. Richard Hewson claimed victory with Gold Coast Australia in 2011-12, whilst Spirit of Australia, skippered by British Skipper Brendan Hall, was the winner of the 2009-10 race edition.

Additionally Qualified Persons on board Sanya Serenity Coast:

Race 4, Fremantle to Sydney: Tom Salt
Race 5, Sydney to Hobart: Tom Salt
Race 6, Hobart to Whitsundays: Tom Salt
Race 7, Whitsundays to Sanya: David Graney
Race 8, Sanya to Qingdao: David Graney
Race 9, Qingdao to Seattle: David Graney
Race 10, Seattle to Panama: Campbell Mackie